Australia Awards Fellowships – 2024

Australia Awards Fellowships – 2024/25

Awarding Country:


Award Type:

Australia Awards Fellowships provide short-term opportunities for in-Australia study, research, and professional development activities, hosted by Australian organizations – and do not lead to academic qualifications. Application rounds are held through a competitive selection process.

Who Can Apply:

Australian organizations such as government institutions, businesses, es, and non-government organizations are eligible to apply. Organizations must be legal entities with an Australian Business Number and must be able to demonstrate links with partner organizations in participating countries and provide in-kind or financial contributions to support Fellowships. Individuals cannot apply.

Recommended: UTS President’s Scholarship for International Students

Participating Countries:

South East Asia

Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam

South Asia and the Middle East

Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iraq, Jordan, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine Territories and Sri Lanka


Federated State of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshal Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna


Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe



Priority Areas: Fellowship programs must align with the following six development priorities: –

  1. Climate change, adaptation, resilience, and green energy transition
  2. Gender equality, disability equity, and social inclusion
  3. Health
  4. Digital Economy (including cyber, critical technology, and media engagement)
  5. Maritime and Blue Economy
  6. Infrastructure and connectivity

Fellow Eligibility:

It is the responsibility lies with the Australian organizations to ensure that all nominated Fellows meet the following general eligibility requirements: –

  1. Minimum 18 years old at the time of commencing the Fellowship
  2. Not be a permanent resident or be applying for PR in Australia or spouse of someone who is
  3. Be a citizen of an eligible country
  4. Not be currently serving military personal
  5. Be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs for student visa subclass 500
  6. Be able to participate in the Fellowship
  7. Be able to travel without family members
  8. Fellows with a disability that requires assistance must travel with carer

How to apply?

Applications for ROUND 19 are now open and must be submitted ONLINE via till 11:59 pm (AEDT) , 7 November, 2023 to submit your online application.

Award Details:

Australian organizations can request funding of up to AUD $ 34,500 per Fellow, to a maximum of 15 Fellows to cover: –

  1. Return air travel and relevant in-Australia travel
  2. Training costs
  3. Accommodation and living expenses
  4. Medical insurance costs when in Australia
  5. Special assistance for people with disability
  6. Program overhead fee

Key Date:

11 OCTOBER 2023 (09:00 am AEDT)        Applications open

7 NOVEMBER 2023 (11:59 pm AEDT)      Application Close

MARCH TO JUNE 2024 The Australian Organization will be notified of the outcome of Stage 1.

JULY TO SEPTEMBER 2024 Successful proposals for 2024/25 funding

STAGE 2                                                               Successful Australian Host Organizations to nominate Fellows and reserves, update the activity table, confirm travel dates, and complete other information via a supplementary Form that will be made available at[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Official Link:  Austrailian Government | Department of Foerign Affairs[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]